Welcome to our website! Call us: 023 8081 7040 and send e-mail: reception@newforestcare.co.uk

Testimonials

“L and I would like to extend our own thanks to you for everything you have done for J. You have been kind and caring and helped him so much to prepare for his next stage. You have let him mature and been there when he has fallen, when he has been angry you have been able to be strong but fair.

This example is mirrored in the wonderful team that you have around him who have also contributed to J’s welfare. We cannot thank you all enough. We miss him so much and so wish things were different. But this is about the bigger picture and we are sure that with all of us pulling together J can lead a life of fulfilment and happiness.

Many thanks again

 

The XXXX family

The XXXX family

“THANK YOU for all the help and support you have given me. I will miss you all so much. Lots of love xxx”.

Former full time placement

Former full time placement

18 June 2013

“To all you big cheeses, Thank you!
You never rejected me, supported me through some of the most difficult times of my life. Helped me grow…not height! If you manged to help me this much you can help anyone!
Love you guys lots xxx”

Former full time placement

Former full time placement

5 July 2014

“I am writing to thank you on behalf of the Council and the Children’s Services for your work with B. We are very impressed with the way in which you have gone the extra mile to support B during this difficult period in his life. Your excellent and highly valued contribution has been noted, and is much appreciated”.

Service Manager, Bristol County Council

Service Manager, Bristol County Council

9 March 2016

“D couldn’t have carried on as he was, I really think his time with you saved his life”

Parent, Southend

Parent, Southend

June 16

“D stated that he had an excellent time when placed with your service. I have also noticed a change in his behaviour since his placement with New Forest Care Your service has provided positive role models for D to emulate and I believe this has made an impression on him. Thank you for your support especially with D’s move to his new placement. I hope that we will be able to work together in the future.

Crisis Placement Social Worker, Southend

Crisis Placement Social Worker, Southend

July 2016

“I know this is going to be one of the hardest letters to write because it just makes me so sad knowing you won’t be around all the time anymore. You going away on holiday was difficult enough but forever is going to be even harder. I just want to thank you so much for absolutely everything you’ve ever done for me, I’ve never met someone who’s put so much of their time into caring for others. No matter how frustrating it is, you’re always there.
I’m really going to miss you a lot. I’m going to miss riding in your car to all sorts of appointments whilst listening to your life experiences. You really have helped me when on-one else was able to & you’ve understood me when nobody else could. I can’t believe this is really happening. This is crazy, it’s been two years. But I think it will be good for me, a new start.

I really hope lots of good things come your way in the future, because you really deserve that. Good luck with everything, and stay in touch!!
Lots of (appropriate) love

YOU’RE AMAZING”

Ex-full time 18 month placement

Ex-full time 18 month placement

August 2016

“I just wanted to say thank you to you and ur amazing team for the work you have put in with C you have transformed my son into someone a bit more balanced with life something I wasn’t able to do so thank you from the bottom of my heart. I know C won’t forget you guys and neither will I… keep up the amazing work you do showing young people that not everything is lost and they can turn their lives around. What amazing staff, the time effort and patience they have put in those staff mentioned will have a space in C’s memories and mine, thank you once again for everything”.

Parent

Parent

Oct 2016

“A had a really positive experience at New Forest Care with no major behavior incidents. She got on well with staff and had the chance to succeed in a structured setting”.

Crisis Placement Social Worker, Bristol

Crisis Placement Social Worker, Bristol

Nov. 2016

“The crisis team have helped me to become a stronger, independent, ambitious, mature and happier young lady. The work the crisis team do has been absolutely amazing and I will be forever grateful. New Forest Care has shown me the only way is up and I can only become a better person”.

Crisis Placement from Bath

Crisis Placement from Bath

Nov. 2016

“I think NFC is a really good care provider”

Crisis placement from Camden

Crisis placement from Camden

Jan. 2017

“I was always able to get hold of someone, they were helpful, knowledgeable and ‘can do’. I felt staff listened and tried to create a bespoke experience based on the young peoples’ needs. Staff problem solved issues without social work support”.

Social Worker, Bath

Social Worker, Bath

Aug. 2017

“You’re really supportive and helpful though my time at RF you’ve helped me to discover new interests and hobbies that I will hopefully carry on in the future. MISS YOU ALREADY”

Crisis placement from West Sussex

Crisis placement from West Sussex

Oct. 2017

“K has formed positive relationships with the staff (at RF) and it is clear she feels safe in their company something she tells me she has not felt for some time”.
Dorset YOS, Feb. 2018

Dorset YOS

Dorset YOS

Feb. 2018

‘’The manager clearly prioritises the young people’s needs, he is child-centred and young people enjoy spending time with him. Relationships with staff have been enhanced by limited staff turnover’’.
“The staff report that they are well supported in their roles and that there are a range of helpful training opportunities available”.
“The Manager and staff team fully promote equality and diversity and work openly with the young people on areas such as identity. Staff have created an open atmosphere where young people feel able to request advice and support”.

WF Childrens’ Home, excerpts from Ofsted report

WF Childrens’ Home, excerpts from Ofsted report

October 2018

“I just wanted to say a massive thank you for always being there for me. You are amazing and have helped me so much, and even though I don’t see you anymore you still make me so much happier. I also want to say thank you for never leaving my side no matter what, and I appreciate it truly!”

Young person

Young person

11 October 2018

“As anticipated it was a very difficult afternoon moving A. Unfortunately it did result in staff having to physically intervene to keep A safe when his behaviour significantly escalated. However, staff were skilled, professional and child centred throughout. The afternoon resulted in a positive outcome for A as this was managed without the police being called and he moved to his new placement”.

Hampshire Social Worker

Hampshire Social Worker

Nov. 2018

“Thank you so much for being there for me and listening to me whether I was grumpy, happy or a complete wreck. I truly hope you have an amazing Grinchmas”

Young person

Young person

Dec. 2018

“Thank you for everything you have done for me over these past 4 months. Its really helped me. I am very grateful for the work you have done to keep me happy and comfortable”.

Young person

Young person

Jan. 2019

“Please accept our sincere thanks for the excellent support and hard work provided by N.F.C in general since A joined your facility, and mainly I would like to take this opportunity and thank Mr M for his effort and excellent communication and mediation when it gets to arranging for our visit and everything else, also for his professionalism and presentation in Lac Review Meetings, also many thanks for Mr J for his attitude high level of experience when he speaks with myself or my wife whether on the phone or in person.

I would like to describe for a bit my experience with NFC and what maybe made me think this way.
The way NFC pay respect to our culture/Tradition and Faith.

The way NFC staff recognised A as a troubled Young man who need help instead of seeing him with a price tag number who generate money.

The way NFC care for A and fulfill his need.

The way NFC staff we met respect and welcome us when we visit.

And whenever we called NFC, staff in general always pick the phone up even if they on annual leave and they make sure our message passed to whoever on duty.

To be honest my list could go on forever and I wish we can thank you enough for accepting A early this year and for your hospitality ever since, which now I can say yes A saw that the grass greener on the other side and not what he experienced on his previous placement.

Please pass our warm thank you and appreciation to xxxxxx and all the rest I missed their names.
Many Thanks again to all of you guys”.

Parents

Parents

27 March 2019

“Just wanted to thank you for the therapy sessions you’ve done for me and B. B is doing brilliantly. I’m aware I haven’t been able to engage in the sessions as much as I would’ve liked due to everything else I’ve got going on but I do feel I’ve benefitted too.

Thanks again, appreciate all the work you’ve done so far Best wishes N”

Mother

Mother

4 May 2019

Letter written to two of our students following a visit to a local school

“Thank you so much for coming to visit us today. Our children loved seeing the lambs and meeting you both. Thank you for answering all of the children’s questions and for being so wonderfully patient. There were a lot of children! We certainly learned a lot more about looking after lambs from you both. Who knew that lambs wagged their tails?!?! I will be looking out for that whenever I see lambs in their fields!

You are both fantastic ambassadors for your school and we very much hope to see you again. Thank you so much”.

Hythe Junior School

Hythe Junior School

5 April 2019

“Therapeutic Support”

New Forest Care (NFC) have a multi-disciplinary therapy team including a consultant child & adolescent psychiatrist, registered mental health nurse and an occupational therapist. NFC offer ongoing monitoring efficacy of treatment – when K is admitted a referral will be made to CAMHS and in the interim their psychiatrist will, in conjunction with the mental health manager, provide psychiatric oversight and monitor current medication. Access to the mental health team is available 24 hours a day via the on call system within New Forest Care.

Staffing
The staff at MF are experienced and suitably qualified with the manager reporting that staff morale is much improved. There are usually three on duty with one waking and one sleep-in staff and all staff met national minimum standards with respect to staff having achieved, or currently undertaking, the level three diploma in childcare. Staff are trained in team teach which seeks to defuse or deescalate challenging behaviours rather than relying on physical intervention- since November 2018 there have been only five instances of interventions.
NFC has three school sites- all are within a 20-minute drive of MF and all were visited as part of this quality assurance visit. Classrooms seen provide modern facilities where pupils follow the national curriculum and can take a range of GCSE’s or B.Tech as well as AQA’s. School rooms had white boards while the music rooms had a drum kit, 12 track mixing desk, Apple Mac, microphone and five guitars.
Class sizes are small comprising three or four young people and are based on age not ability. All school sites have outdoor space including a five-a-side football court, climbing wall as well as free access to local gyms. A positive rewards policy means that young people will earn at least one weekend activity and in reality more are achieved with a wide range of activities including sailing, bowling, cinema all being on offer.
Education and care staff provide daily verbal handovers to each other so as to ensure consistency of care. Where additional staffing levels are needed these can be provided by the care staff to promote consistency of care while one to one is offered for brief periods in rooms so that there are no internal or external exclusions as is consistent with the organisations’ non-exclusion policy.

• No agency staff used by new forest care. Stable staff team known to all young people now in place. Staff shortages covered by staffing known to all young people. Both young people allocated new key workers”

Excerpts from local authority Pre-placement report for MF Childrens’ Home

Excerpts from local authority Pre-placement report for MF Childrens’ Home

1 May 2019

“Following the meeting this morning I wanted to email the feedback.

Since D has been placed with you, it has been really lovely to see the improvements he has made with the support you have given him. I really enjoy reading the placement reports even of incidents as they are always measured and child focused. I like hearing how you speak to D and focus on the positives even in moments of difficulty and give him the consistent message that it is ok to have a bad day and that doesn’t mean the placement is broken or he has ruined it.

The communication I get is always good and balanced so I always know what is going on for D but am not overwhelmed with multiple calls and emails for minor things. As D’s social worker it has been a breath of fresh air for me to see him being supported so robustly and I have been able to take a step back as previously I was seeing D nearly every day and having multiple calls daily from the placement which became unmanageable.

I like that you all have been able to see the lovely D I know as sometimes others have struggled to see behind his behaviour.

Thank you,

Social Worker

Social Worker

10 May 2019

My son W started at New Forest School in 2017. He has extremely high levels of anxiety and it’s incredibly difficult to get him to engage with anyone. His anxiety can be crippling at times. W did not have a healthy relationship with his mainstream school so we knew the transition to New Forest would be incredibly difficult for him. After many discussion with the school about W prior to him starting, a plan was put in place for him to start his sessions at the Farm. It was a very slow process to begin with. Just an hour once a week. This very slowly increased. The staff were phenomenal in going at a pace that was comfortable for W and building strong relationships at the same time. To begin with all of his negativity was directed at the farm. This was understandable, he did not have any trust in teachers. But the staff got to know W. They were amazing in communicating with me how W sessions were going, asking questions on W’s likes and dislikes. What they could do to make him feel comfortable and engage with him. They didn’t push him, they took it at a slow pace that he could cope with but at the same time implementing a routine and structure which is what he desperatley needed….even though he fought against it for a while. The school recognised the importance of routine and that W needed to continue it, so they continued his sessions during half term. I was truly touched that they were so commited to forming a positive relationship with him, that they knew by having a couple of weeks break during half term, that W would struggle even more to re-engage after having a break. And for me personally it was amazing. I felt very isolated and alone. No one in my life understood what I was going through but Mark organised a day at the farm for children, parents and staff. It was the most relaxed I had felt in years. To be around people who weren’t judging me and who understood exactly what it was like. I formed friendships with other mums that day and we still talk now two years later. W continued his sessions each week, during school time and half term. It was very difficult for quite some time, he would be very angry about going, refuse to wear the overalls, wouldn’t participate in any of the activities or interact with staff and peers. He would just stand in the background watching. This is exactly what he needed to do and the staff knew that. He needed to have time to feel safe, to know that the staff could be trusted, that they weren’t going to give up on him and that they cared. He needed time to get used to his new routine and know he could depend upon it. This was something that W had struggled with a great deal in his previous school, he was let down massively by them. The staff at New Forest knew this and worked so hard to build up his confidence and trust. His previous school let me down too, in awful ways. So I was of course nervous too, I didn’t know the staff at New Forest, I didn’t trust anyone. I would drop W at his sessions at the farm and park around the corner. That quickly went away. I was amazed at how quickly I trusted them. I could see how commited all the staff are in how they interacted with the children. How passionate they are about their work, how much they care about the children, their ability to be flexible in catering for each child’s needs individually and the communication is nothing I have ever experienced. That was key for me, to be informed in detail about his school day would better prepare me for his moods at home and vice versa. I was blown away, I still am. W’s sessions at the farm are what started his journey of positive relationships with staff AND peers. It did take a long time, but now he is enthusiastic about going to the farm and school. He engages in EVERY session at the farm. Not only does he do all the tasks, but he does them happily. This is because he feels safe, he was and still is fully supported by people who went above and beyond for him. That’s what all the staff at New Forest do. By them being so flexible, understanding and knowledgeable to cater the sessions to his needs and continue these sessions even during half term, I now have a son who travels 80 miles to and from school everyday. I truly believe it’s down to those first few months at the farm that enabled my son to have trust in staff, even when he’s having a very bad day, he knows he’s safe with them, as do I. Thank you

Mother

Mother

12 May 2019

I am writing to speak about the amazing experience I had at New Forest School Farm.
I attended New Forest School Farm between the years of 2014 and 2016. I already loved animals (and still do!) so it was brilliant that I got the opportunity to help out on the farm, plus gain a qualification from it. I am now able to put this on my CV as work experience which is helpful when applying to jobs.

There was a variety of activities I could get involved in. I learned many new skills beyond basic animal care such as building animal accommodation and helping sick or injured animals. It helped me find my passion in life. I gained a lot of knowledge on animal care which is still what I would like to pursue as a long-term career.
The farm was beneficial to me in lots of different ways. I believe animals are a great form of therapy and going to the farm helped me when I wasn’t feeling my best. It also gave me structure to my days and routine, which has helped me later in life. Furthermore, I was able to complete my BTEC Animal Care certificate which I am very pleased to have received a distinction in. The staff working on the farm were fantastic in all aspects and highly knowledgable on animal care.

When I moved away, the farm was definitely the one thing I missed the most. After leaving New Forest School I continued working on a farm closer to home as a volunteer. I did this for almost two years and still help out now in my free time. I also went on to complete a dog grooming course at Kingston Maurward College. I don’t believe I would have continued with my passion for animal care had I not gained prior skills, enthusiasm and confidence at New Forest School Farm.

I have been back to visit New Forest School Farm and their newly built second farm, which looks incredible. New Forest Care will continue to support me in completing my Level 3 BTEC.

Overall, going to New Forest School Farm has had a massive positive impact on my current life. It gave me motivation and helped determine what I want to do with my future. I think every school should have a farm because it has so many benefits to children and young people. The fact that they are expanding the farm and incorporating a wider variety of animals and activities is amazing.

I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to attend New Forest School Farm.

Ex-student

Ex-student

13 May 2019

I am really grateful for the support RC and the school have given C recently with her being worried about her older brother. It is certainly not an easy situation with her brothers mental health being so bad and a pending court case. I can not fault the care and support that C has always been given. There’s been the occasional issue whereby a particular member of staff has dealt with situations with C. It could have been handled differently with a little bit more thought on how C reacts. Also certain comments said to her regarding how she will progress once she moves back home. The comments were not needed as it wasn’t positive for her and certainly hasn’t helped C’s confidence or self esteem. She was told that she will no doubt return to old habits by not leaving the house and end up refusing to go to college or drop out. I would have appreciated more positive comments to boost C’s confidence in moving forward. Perhaps it was just a lapse of judgment by the staff member and a passing comment but it obviously did upset her as she wouldn’t have told me otherwise.

Activities or outings have always been fabulous from the RC, with what is on offer or available to C. She’s really enjoyed them all even ones that have pushed her out of her comfort zone. I was always concerned about the way the RC had pushed C when she first joined because I was worried about her getting upset & struggling but saw it helped her in the long run. The difference in not being able to do such a thing at home is I’m the only one that’s supporting her where as at the RC there’s at least two members of staff available to deal with any fall out. They also aren’t as emotionally attached.

C has grown into an amazing mature, kind and considerate young person and I will always be truly grateful to NFC for all the help and support and time they have given C to help her become such a person.

I’m so proud of how C has dealt with her exams recently. Knowing how anxious she was and how she’s always struggled with school work let alone sitting in exam conditions and the pressure of completing them.

Again I believe this is down to the support RC and the school have given her and how she has been encouraged to do her best regardless. I can not ask any more of her!

The accommodation that the RC offers is outstanding. I have always been very impressed how the setting is made as homely as possible like a family home. I love the pictures around the property of the children there and staff it gives a wonderful sense of a big family.

I know C has always been a picky eater but the majority of the time an alternative has been offered if she really doesn’t like it and I believe C has tried a few dishes that she wouldn’t normally have eaten and surprised herself that she enjoys it. She is more aware now of some foods she shouldn’t over indulge in especially her addiction to mayonnaise which has reduced dramatically. She doesn’t try and help herself to food at home now either she limits herself to dinner times etc with the occasional treat.

The RC staff have always been really accommodating whenever there has been an issue with Cs trains for her return journey to RC. They have gone out of their way to ensure she gets back safely and timely for school the following day.

C is really looking forward to coming home for good next month though I am sure she will really miss all the staff some whom have been with her during her whole journey at NFC. She doesn’t have any friends outside NFC and I know that will cause some uncertainty until she starts college as to how she will react once home. I do have some concerns that she will spend too much time shut away in her room or the house. Though we encourage her constantly. Hopefully she will make new friends that help her continue to be such an amazing young person.

I would like to thank everyone at NFC especially RC for all that you have done whether it be push her boundaries, give her a talking to or just a hug! She wouldn’t be who she is without you.

Thank you!!

Best wishes for all the future adventures you all pursue and the lucky children that get an opportunity like C has over the last few years”.

Mother

Mother

28 May 2019

My son K has been in the care of NFC for approximately six years, four of which he has spent at RC.
We have seen K go through many trials and tribulations mainly related to his condition which at times has been very challenging but at all times during his tenure he has had the best support and care that we could have hoped for. K has blossomed from a frightened little boy on medication when he arrived to a relatively confident, able and likeable young man. He still has a way to go but with continued guidance, he has as good a chance to make it in life as most. This in part is attributable to the care of the NFC staff and its nurturing environment.
At the present time, K himself would probably have a very different opinion but I do believe in later years that he will look back and realise just how lucky he was compared to others in his position and to have had the oportunities he has.

We have always felt that NFC was the best placement for K. Although there has been many staff changes over the years we have always had good relationships with all that have been involved with K. They have shown great professionalism and often gone the exta mile because they care and clearly get a lot out of the often difficult jobs they do.

Leadership and example comes from the top and I would like to thank R in particular for all the hard work and support he has given all of us in what at times have been extremely challenging situations where it would have been easy to give up and accept defeat. R has always been there to fight K’s corner on our behalf and we will certainly remind him of this in the coming years.

We have high hopes for K’s future and I think that NFC have given him a good springboard to start his new life outside of the care environment. It wouldn’t surprise me to see him in a few years, giving something back, working with young people with similar difficulties.

Many thanks to you all, it has been an eventful journey.

Parents

Parents

29 May 2019

“Hi J, I just wanted to thank you for earlier. I really appreciate you being so kind, understanding and caring. It really does mean a lot. I’m ever so grateful to you and D for everything you are doing. It will be two years next month that P has been with you and he’s a different child. I know my emotions are high but I just really wanted to put that aside for a moment to stress to you both how wonderful you all are and to give you complete credit for all that’s gone in to getting P where he is today. That’s solely down to the knowledge, passion and dedication of the school. You, ………….. absolutely everyone. I really can’t thank you all enough”.

Parent

Parent

June 2019

“To the New Forest Care Team,
We want to express our gratitude for everything that you’ve helped us achieve for the Summer Festival at St James’ Park on the 6 July 2019!
With love, Friends of St James’ Park”

Friends of St James’ Park Charity

Friends of St James’ Park Charity

July 2019

“Wow what a lovely email to receive !
We will pass the message on to R ! We are exceptionally proud of him too !
If you had told me 18 months ago he would be doing performing in front of a crowd I would have told you it wasn’t possible!
Please pass all our love and thanks on to all staff for their continued support of our R and thank you all so much for giving us back “our son” we lost him for a while but with the incredible efforts of all staff (and of course R!)
We are finally able to have him back x
Have a great summer and thank you again”

Parents

Parents

24 July 2019

“I wanted to get in touch to wish you all a very happy summer and thank you for everything you’ve helped ACoRNS [the Autism Community Research Network @Southampton] to achieve over the past year. We’ve seen one of our students win a University prize for the impact of her work, been awarded some more money from the University to continue our innovative Digital Stories work next year, put in place some excellent projects at New Forest School focusing on student voice, and seen our first ACoRNS Doctorate by Chantelle Zilli. We congratulate Dr C for all her hard work, and the New Forest Care team for supporting her so brilliantly. We are very much looking forward to continuing our partnership next year.

Sarah Parsons – Professor of Autism and Inclusion Southampton Education School, University of Southampton

Sarah Parsons – Professor of Autism and Inclusion Southampton Education School, University of Southampton

July 2019

“We would like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude to the staff members at New Forest Care for their professionalism and humanity in providing care to our dear daughter R.

Naturally, as R’s parents, we were profoundly concerned for her welfare and sick with worry that she was placed so far away from us in an area and with people that neither she nor we knew.

The staff and her therapist have respected R’s wishes and feelings to have contact with us and also recognised that this was of fundamental importance to R’s welfare, the paramount consideration of the Children’s Act 1989.

The staff and her therapist undertook tremendous efforts to arrange, supervise and facilitate contact between R and us, and from the outset the staff were respectful to us as R’s parents, warm, friendly and welcoming to us and very hospitable to us and clearly dedicated to building a relationship with us, all of which has contributed immensely to R making a speedy recovery from the suffering caused to her by being forced into care by the County Council. After our first visit to the Home and meeting with staff members, it gave us peace of mind to know that until R could return home that at least she was cared for by the staff members who have clearly helped and restored R to fulfil her wishes and feelings to be reunited with us back in her life-long family home.

In addition to successfully reuniting R with us (with outstanding contribution by her therapist) and properly planning out her transition back to her family home, New Forest care and its staff at the Home have provided an excellent care and support package to R in respect of her education, medical treatment, emotional needs and independence.

We will always be grateful to the staff at the Home for their outstanding help, support and care provided to R and for their excellent working relationship with us, all of which was centred entirely on R’s welfare”.

Parents

Parents

20 June 2019